I did not know whether you had such an experience like me. When Mike proclaimed that we would take online course on next Monday and dismissed the last class at end of the workday, I darted out of the door of class and hatched a plan which travel toward some cities around the tedious Southampton City on weekends. Then I was absent in that so-called online course. In the next several day,  I was trying to look for any excuses which I could skip the online class.

Some study freak gazed at me and asked why I could make variety of excuses to miss the class. I answered them, I am Procrastinator. Yes, I am Procrastinator. For any Procrastinators, today is the first day of the rest of your life. This almost become our slogan.

Even if I prepare to watch MOOC online someday and set an alarm clock, I think I will mute its sounds and continue to snooze. Even if I open my laptop to watch MOOC, I still could not insist to complete it because of distraction of other compelling video and Facebook. I may make another excuse that I post some status first on Facebook and then continue to watching MOOC. But normally, I will leave MOOC behind then.

In our bottom of heart, MOOC is a fixed video, it will not disappear with its feet in someday and I can finish it at any time. Additionally, If I do not understand some words in MOOC, I can roll it again and again. Hence I could be unfocused and distracted.

But if the MOOC become lecture which especially Mike have, I will get up unhesitatingly without alarm clock. It may be because of the attraction of Mike. But I personally think the most reasons is that I can feel someone monitor me at some corner when I am absent in a class. As if lecture is a strip of rope which bundle me, I cannot lose it.

After all, Lecture is limited, our classmates are precious and exchanging our opinion is valueless. Lecture is sort of atmosphere which different people with different culture from different country collide against sparks of wisdom.However, MOOC is a static video: lifeless and no vitality. Even though I could comment on the below of video, it get few responsive rate unless you have brilliant opinion. The result is that you cannot untangle your puzzle and still do not learn anything.

Someone said that MOOC still have a plenty of advantages: freedom timetable, low cost and wide variety of course. But if you are from a university which hit the low-ranking, you also pay low tuition fees and skip your class at any time. Professions in the lecture of university do not require every student must attend in every class. You also can dispense your time according to your situation(Igniteengineer, 2014).

Elite university is different. Everyone is hardworking and everyone want to compete with each other. Hence, they attend in every important class and take notes as they can. Nevertheless, study atmosphere played an irreplaceable role in our study life.

I think this is the gap between real time lecture and MOOC.

Reference:

Igniteengineer (2014), [online] 10, Nov, 2015 at: http://www.igniteengineers.com/mooc-advantages-and-disadvantages/